This post may contain referral/affiliate links. If you buy something through links, Jen may earn a commission.
Please read my affiliate disclaimer.

Ipsy Glam Bag – Clean Slate

This is your year. Say goodbye to what no longer serves
you—habits, feelings, expired mascara—and invite in the new.
Start your year on a path that sets your dreams in stone.

January 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean Slate

Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription box that sends you sample size or full-sized depending on the subscription tier you chose. These products may either be make-up or beauty products such as facial cleansers or make-up brushes. This is a review of the 2020 January beauty box Clean Slate that I purchased for $12 with my own money. I will be including the information that the information card included has on it, then sharing my opinion about the products that came in the January 2020 Clean Slate Glam Bag.

January 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean Slate

Clean Slate Bag

This month’s Glam Bag them is a clean slate, their bag is printed with a slate print design and I really like it, it’s a well suited the theme of this bag. I like the subtle pink inside. It’s a good quality bag that I look forward to using.

January 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean Slate
Whether your brows are sparse, bold, or just need a little definition, this volumizing brow gel will make them look perfect in a flash. The tiny tapered brush provides a mess-free application and makes tinting and taming super easy. Plus, the long-wearing, water-resistant formula won’t smudge or fade.
This spooly applicator is ridiculously and laughably tiny! I use Benefit Cosmetics brow products they are my go-to but the sample size brush is way too tiny and picks up way too much product. I think the full-sized product would work better. It’s darker than what I would have chosen, feel as though I’d look more like Tony Montana or worse Eugene Levy using this shade… I usually go with a medium blonde 2 shades which I feel is sometimes a bit dark on my brows. I currently use Benefit Cosmetics Goof-Proof Brow Pencil and the Benefit Cosmetics 3D Browtones.
January 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean Slate
If you wear powder highlighter then you’re 100% need this brush in your life. The unique, fanned-out shape is perfect for dusting shimmer on the high points of your face with minimal fallout-and because it’s totally vegan and cruelty-free, you won’t have any guilt making it a regular in your make-up routine.
This didn’t come with a highlighter. I personally don’t use highlighter, I prefer a natural-looking makeup, but I am open to experimenting had they sent me a highlighter. Don’t know what I am going to do with this, I guess I’ll go out and buy a highlighter powder to use with the brush. Any suggestions? I have fair skin that is prone to red tones, let me know what product you would recommend down in the comments. I could always ask around on influenster.
January 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean Slate
Save time with the three-in-one cleanser. Packed with antioxidant-rich blueberry, this healthy (and gentle) formula can be used as a makeup remover, daily wash, or a clarifying mask. The coolest part? It starts as a totally unique  (and super satisfying), bouncy gel that builds into deep-cleaning bubbles.
It smells sweet and gentle, I applied it as a face mask to my dry face as suggested. It’s a clear gel, when I applied it lightly clumps but goes on smooth, then foams white and starts to go clear again. It feels like a great moisture mask, smells very pleasant. Upon further research, I found out this is one extremely popular due to K-Pop endorsement and sold out the day it launched. Luckily the product is back on the shelves since, and you can get some for as low as $10. It contains coconut oil which helps remove makeup and impurities in the skin when cleansing and hyaluronic acid which is super great for moisturizing your skin. I am very happy with this cleanser! It really suds up and cleans the skin very well, I am impressed!
January 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean Slate
You get the best of many worlds with the lip balm; It’s going to be a tawny rose shimmer, delivers all-day hydration(thanks to the shea butter and macadamia nut oil), and is created in collaboration in Brooke USA, whose mission is to improve the lives of working horses, donkeys and mules all over the world.
Reading the ingredients I see it has organic oils like shea and macadamia nut, castor oil, avocado oil, sweet almond, and broccoli seed oils. I didn’t know broccoli seed had oils, learn something new every day! It doesn’ have a smell, and goes on really smooth. I think the shade is a bit dark for my lips, I prefer natural tones, however, I can use just a little bit and spread it across my lips it’s not too dark. I like the little horse image of the horse head, it’s cute and speaks for their mission, it’s a nice touch.
January 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean SlateJanuary 2020 Ipsy Glam Bag Clean Slate
It’s the season for seriously skin-quenching formulas, and this moisture-packed treatment from thirsty skin experts, H2O+ is proven to double your skin hydration levels for up to 24hours—pretty major! Plus, the lightweight texture absorbs in seconds to leave your skin looking plump and smooth, never greasy.
This really does absorb fast, at first I thought I didn’t use enough because I am so used to moisturizers sitting on my skin for longer than a few minutes. I used this right after the Glow Recipe Blueberry Bounce Gentle Cleanser. They worked really well together. after testing some products on my face last week I broke out on my chin and forehead and I have been dealing with it since. My break out is noticeably more moisturized and not as patchy as it was this morning. My skin is really glowing, it’s smooth and calm. I am really excited about this product, my skin feels amazing!

Verdict:

I didn’t think that I would like this Glam Bag until I got to use the products. The theme is Clean Slate, the bag, the cleansers, the H2O moisturizer and even the tinted lip moisturizer with the mission really gave me the clean slate feeling the Glam Bag was aiming for. However, the Luxie Highlighter brush lacking an included highlighter was a little disappointing, I feel like if I had the highlighter instead of the brow gel would have rounded the bag very well. Overall, I really did love the bag itself and can’t wait to stuff my other makeup in it. I truly enjoy the H2O Beauty Oasis hydrating cream, but I will probably wait for it to go on sale, the price of the full size is a bit out of my budget right now.

Next, let’s weigh the overall value of this Glam Bag:

 

The Glam Bag is $12 monthly, the actual value of this Clean Slate Glam Bag for me was $56.60.

Very much worth it to try products I would have otherwise not been unaware of.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *